I’m Still Here

9 Mar
I’ve come to the understanding that your life really is 
about living through your worse fears.  
How you deal with them IS the whole point. 
The elusive meaning of life that everyone searches for.
 
I had great loves.  I’ve lost great loves.
I married.  I divorced.
I sang my soul. I lost my voice.
I’ve faced some of my worse fears full on, without my head in the sand,
And I’m still here.
 
Everything that has knocked me down has made me who I am. 
And I DO like who I am.
I am standing here today not because I avoided things, 
but because I refused to prolong the inevitable.
 
Because I am a warrior.  
 
And I know the only way to beat anything 
is to conquer it. 
To overcome your obstacle by physical, mental, or emotional force.  
Otherwise it will always own you.
 
I own me.
 
I know I have more lessons to learn.
I know I will love again, 
I will cry again,
I will laugh always 
and 
I will sing once more.

Leave a comment